Wednesday, May 27, 2015

Michael W. Smith's ~*Sovereign*~ Music CD, © 2015

"I’m really passionate about the song SKY SPILLS OVER.  It was fun creating it in the studio and I’ve been overwhelmed at the response it gets when we perform it live every night.  My son Ryan is a really talented filmmaker so I always enjoy working with him on a project.  But what made this project even more special was that 3 of my own grandkids were in the video.  This video was a lot of fun to make.  I hope people enjoy it!" --artist Michael W. Smith

Watch the SKY SPILLS OVER music video NOW!

For more than three decades, Michael W. Smith has shown an amazing ability to embrace current pop/rock sounds without blurring his identity as a Christian singer/songwriter. He’s done it again with Sovereign, an album bristling with new songwriting and production ideas. For his first studio-recorded worship project featuring original material, Smitty cowrote with such notables as Jason Ingram, Kyle Lee, and Mia Fields (as well as his son Ryan). There are touches of Mumford & Sons–style modern folk found here, heard especially in the galloping banjo-accented beat of “Sky Spills Over.” Tracks like “Miracle” and “All Arise” have overtones of arena rock with their triumphant imagery and ascending melodies. “The One That Really Matters”—a duet with Kari Jobe—ranks among the most eloquent praise ballads that Smith has ever recorded. Covers of Worship Central’s “The Same Power” and All Sons & Daughters’ “Christ Be All Around Me” are given expansive treatments that remain humbly reverent at their core. Production input from Seth Mosley (MercyMe), Chris Stevens (TobyMac, Mandisa), and Jeremy Edwardson (Jesus Culture) gives Sovereign an assertive au courant sound that complements the timeless content of its lyrics.  --iTunes Editors’ Notes

MWS-Bio31 You Won’t Let Go 3:59
2 Heaven Come Down 3:50
3 Miracle 4:19
4 Sky Spills Over 4:04
5 All Arise 4:40
6 You Are the Fire 4:29
7 Christ Be All Around Me 5:24
8 Sovereign Over Us 5:54
9 Hide Myself 4:22
10 The Same Power 4:25
11 I Lay Me Down 4:08
12 The One That Really Matters (feat. Kari Jobe) 6:59
13 You Are the Fire [Live] 4:28
14 All Arise [Live] 4:45
15 I Lay Me Down [Live] 4:16
16 video You Won’t Let Go [Live] 4:02
17 video Sovereign Over Us [Live] 6:09
18 video The One That Really Matters (feat. Kari Jobe) [Live] 9:14

~* Giveaway copy of CD *~
***Thank you to Propeller Consulting, LLC for a CD copy for review and for the offer of one CD copy to a winner here at Lane Hill House. Leave your e-mail comment[at]contact[dot]com information with your comment below. Drawing will be June 2, 2015. This review was written in my own words. No other compensation was received.***

"Disclosure (in accordance with the FTC’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising”): Many thanks to Propeller Consulting, LLC for providing this prize for the giveaway. Choice of winners and opinions are 100% my own and NOT influenced by monetary compensation. I did receive a sample of the product in exchange for this review and post.
Only one entrant per mailing address, per giveaway.  If you have won a prize from our sponsor Propeller / FlyBy Promotions in the last 30 days, you are not eligible to win.  Or if you have won the same prize on another blog, you are not eligible to win it again. Winner is subject to eligibility verification.”


  1. Kathleen, I love MWS music! This record sounds beautiful. And it was released on what would have been my Amy's 31st birthday. I would love to own a copy. :)

  2. I have loved Michael W. Smith's music for years. Thanks for the giveaway.

  3. Hi Melissa and Anne ~ and the draw of a hat and the winner is

    ~* *~
    Anne Payne