Tuesday, March 13, 2012

The Guardian Duke by Jamie Carie c2012 Review and Giveaway (1)

"For, with the flow and ebb, its style
Varies from continent to isle;
Dry shod o'er sands, twice every day,
The pilgrims to the shrine find way;
Twice every day, the waves efface
Of staves and sandall'd feet the trace."
   --Excerpt from Marmion, an epic poem by Sir Walter Scott
        first published 1808

An adventure between Robin Hood and Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego? Our heroine, Lady Alexandria Featherstone, is traipsing across Kingdoms from England to Ireland, beginning here at her home, Lindisfarne, on the eastern edge of Northumberland, near the Scottish border.

Lindisfarne, a medieval monastery on Holy Island, is reachable during low tide. As you can see, it necessitates a steep and rocky climb! A path revealed only twice a day when the tide lets out, allows passage between the island and a mainland village. So pick your time wisely, to traverse back and forth!

Lady Alex is seeking her parents who are treasure hunters, in grave danger, and pronounced lost and deceased by the King who appoints the Duke of St. Easton to be her guardian. Without finding or reaching her goal, she continues on with the slightest of clues. She is not the only one after these treasure hunters, for there are those in pursuit of her as she travels with two unlikely duos: A tall, giant of a man, and an unparalleled marksman who has hidden away from the public because of his popularity of feats.

Gabriel, the Duke of St. Easton, has troubles of his own, but sets out to rescue Lady Alex. She is untruthful to him in letters, but he continues on, infatuated with her and hoping to bring her home to his care and protection.

Lady Alex stays one step, barely, ahead of him in his pursuit. Finally, they end up on the same ship and see each other for the first time from afar. But... they have met before!

 This is the first novel in "The Forgotten Castles" series.
Continue the adventure of Gabriel, the Duke of St. Easton, and the fair-hearted Alexandria Featherstone as they travel to Iceland--the Land of Fire and Ice--in book two of the Forgotten Castles series: The Forgiven Duke. Coming from B&H Fiction in July 2012! --Jamie Carie, Author

The Forgotten Castles Series is a three book series that follows amateur sleuth, Lady Alexandria Featherstone, as she travels to Ireland (book one – The Guardian Duke), Iceland (book two – The Forgiven Duke), and Italy (book three – A Duke’s Promise) in search of her missing parents. Full of adventure, romance and mystery the three books sweep readers across Europe in pursuit of a famed invention. Along the way, Alexandria develops feelings for her guardian – the brooding Duke of St. Easton, who has recently suffered a physical blow that is changing his life. Gabriel thinks of his new charge as an unwanted complication in a time when his life is coming apart at the seams but soon comes to cherish her letters and admire her faith. Their journey will be fraught with danger as they come ever closer to God’s plan for their lives.

Jamie Carie is an inspirational fiction novelist who believes in the power of “story” to touch hearts and change lives. http://www.JamieCarie.com  Signup for Jamie's Newsletter

No comments:

Post a Comment