Monday, June 24, 2013

The Quarryman's Bride ~* Land of Shining Water Series, Book 2 *~ by Tracie Peterson, ©2013

The Quarryman's Bride by Tracie Peterson
Summary: "Historical romance series Land of Shining Water is set in 1890s Minnesota; Emmalyne and Tavin are separated by duty yet bonded by love, daring to dream that God could change the hearts of those keeping them apart" ―Provided by publisher.

Emmalyne Knox and Tavin MacLachlan were destined to be together...until the tragic deaths of Emmalyne's youngest sisters. Family tradition mandates that the youngest daughter should remain single to care for her parents in their old age, and now that daughter is Emmalyne. Her father unyielding, Emmalyne surrenders to her duty, heartbroken. Tavin leaves town, equally devastated.
     Years later, Emmalyne's family moves, and she and Tavin meet again. Their feelings for each other are as strong as ever, but their painful past and Emmalyne's father still stand between them. Soon both families are in the midst of the growing conflict rising between the workers at the granite quarry that Tavin's father owns and operates. When a series of near-fatal accidents occur, Tavin must figure out who is behind the attacks before someone gets killed.
     Bound by obligation, yet yearning for a future together, can Emmalyne and Tavin dare to dream that God could heal a decade-long wound and change the hearts of those who would stand in the way of true love?

Following the burial of her two younger sisters, Emmalyne Knox's father packs up his family and moves to Minneapolis. With Emmalyne and Tavin's marriage plans dashed beyond the tornado that took her two sisters, Tavin leaves as well to find work in Maine as a quarryman. Eleven years later, the Knox family is returning to St. Cloud with Tavin's father aiding them in finding a settling place. How can it be? What of Tavin? Has his burdened heart moved on as well?

They move to the opposite side of town in the country than where they had lived before going to the large city of Minneapolis those many years past. A decade. Growth had spurted up as they drove through St. Cloud. Nothing like what they had left behind. Will the pain and memories long buried, resurface and compound the frailness of Emmalyne's mother? She has already not tended well to the departure and upset of her family within their loss.

As Emmalyne toils through the day cleaning the lower part of the house for her brother and parents, the furniture has arrived and is brought by her brother and father. They return to the hotel for the night for a final sleep before beginning their next day. The next day... the new day.

What a patient young woman Emmalyne is. Dreams still alive she tends to her family. With her mother ill, it remains with her to continue as she has as caregiver of the home.
But knowing they were hereknowing, that Emmalyne was just a few short miles awaytortured Tavin's heart like he'd never known. There would come a time, he knew, that he would have to see her again. A time when he would have to face up to the fact that as much as he had tried to hate her and the very memory of their time together ... Tavin MacLachlan still loved Emmalyne Knox.
   --The Quarryman's Bride, 91
What will become of these hearts dimly hidden between the day's fare. Does a memory keep one alive longing for a continuance of days gone by? Will today be as it was, or hidden forever?

Tavin has returned home upon receiving a letter from his family sent months earlier. On his first evening home, Luthias Knox, now working for Tavin's father, comes up the drive. As the horse and wagon near, they recognize each other. Earlier, Tavin had promised his father he would help in their granite quarry. Why didn't his father reveal Emmalyne's family's return before Tavin extended his vow? She had refused his offer to elope those years ago. What was to become of them? Could the past splinter the now?
The Icecutter's Daughter by Tracie Peterson
Land of Shining Water Series, Book 1

The Miner's Lady releases August 2013
The Miner's Lady by Tracie Peterson
Land of Shining Water Series, Book 3

Tracie Peterson

Tracie Peterson is the award-winning author of over eighty novels, both historical and contemporary. Her avid research resonates in her stories, as seen in her bestselling Heirs of Montana, and Alaskan Quest series. Tracie and her family make their home in Montana. Visit Tracie’s Web site at

***Thank you to Litfuse Publicity Group for inviting me to be part of the blog tour for Tracie Peterson's The Quarryman's Bride; to author Tracie Peterson and Bethany House Publishers, for the copy of this book. This review is in my own words. No other compensation was received.***

Tracie Peterson’s “The Quarryman’s Bride” True Love $200 Anthropologie Giveaway and 7/9 Facebook Party!

Welcome to the campaign page for Tracie Peterson's newest book in the Land of the Shining Water series, The Quarryman's Bride. Tracie is celebrating with a "True Love" $200 Anthropologie giveaway and a Facebook Author Chat Party. QuarrymanBride One winner will receive:
  • A $200 Anthropologie gift card
  • The Quarryman's Bride and The Icecutter's Daughter by Tracie Peterson
Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on July 8th. Winner will be announced at the "The Quarryman's Bride" Facebook Author Chat Party on July 9th. Connect with Tracie for an evening of book chat, trivia, laughter, and more! Tracie will also share an exclusive look at the next book in the Land of Shining Water series and give away books and other fun prizes throughout the evening.
So grab your copy of The Quarryman's Bride and join Tracie on the evening of July 9th for a chance to connect and make some new friends. (If you haven't read the book, don't let that stop you from coming!)

Don't miss a moment of the fun; RSVP today. Hope to see you on the 9th!

Enjoy the first three chapters:

No comments:

Post a Comment